SWOT Analysis of Tesla 2026: Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats
This SWOT analysis of Tesla is an MBA strategy sample on the FY2025 filings, with the 2026 quarterly reports beside each point they change. It covers 2025 revenue of 94.8 billion dollars, down 3 percent; record energy storage; the repealed US EV credit; a 2026 rebound in deliveries but not profit; and two open NHTSA investigations of Full Self-Driving.
This is a SWOT analysis of Tesla, Inc., written in September 2026 as a sample for an MBA strategic management module. The four quadrants are built on Tesla's own filings for the year ended 31 December 2025: the Q4 and FY 2025 Update to shareholders, the production and deliveries report filed on 2 January 2026, and the annual report on Form 10-K. Where Tesla's quarterly reports on Form 10-Q for the periods to 31 March and 30 June 2026, or its Q2 2026 Update, have overtaken a point, the 2026 position is given beside it. Figures are for FY2025 unless another year is given.
SWOT sorts what a company controls (strengths and weaknesses, both internal) from what it does not (opportunities and threats, both external). The test of a good one is not how many bullets it has. It is whether each bullet carries evidence, and whether the recommendations at the end follow from the quadrants rather than from the writer's opinion of the company. That is what a marker checks first.
Tesla's 2025 is a good subject because the story changed. Revenue fell for the first time in the five years the shareholder update reports, operating margin dropped to 4.6 percent and vehicle deliveries fell for a second year. In the same twelve months energy storage deployments set a record and the services line grew 19 percent. A SWOT built on 2024 numbers, which is what most published examples still use, describes a different company.
What Does Tesla Sell, and How Much Did It Sell in 2025?
Tesla sells electric vehicles, energy generation and storage products, and services. In FY2025 total revenue was 94.8 billion dollars, down 3 percent from 97.7 billion. Automotive contributed 69.5 billion dollars, down 10 percent; energy generation and storage 12.8 billion, up 27 percent; and services and other 12.5 billion, up 19 percent (Tesla, 2026a).
Tesla revenue by line, FY2025
Chart data
| Item | Value (bn USD) |
|---|---|
| Automotive | 69.5 bn USD |
| Energy generation and storage | 12.8 bn USD |
| Services and other | 12.5 bn USD |
The automotive segment is the Model 3 and Model Y plus a small number of other vehicles. Of the 1,636,129 cars delivered in 2025, 1,585,279 were a Model 3 or Model Y and 50,850 were everything else, which puts one platform at almost 97 percent of volume (Tesla, 2026b). Energy generation and storage is mainly Megapack, the utility-scale battery, and Powerwall, the home battery; the company deployed 46.7 GWh of storage in 2025, its highest ever. Services and other covers vehicle servicing, the Supercharger network, insurance and used-vehicle sales. Tesla launched a Robotaxi ride-hailing service in June 2025, which is where the software strategy becomes a product (Tesla, 2026c).
The mix is the point to take from this section. Energy and services together were 25.3 billion dollars of the 94.8 billion total, just under 27 percent. In 2024 the same two lines were 20.6 billion of 97.7 billion, about 21 percent (Tesla, 2026a). The car business is still nearly three quarters of the company, but every part of the growth in 2025 came from outside it. A SWOT that treats Tesla as a carmaker with a side business misses that.
Read more MBA assignment samples, or see how we approach an MBA assignment. For the same four-quadrant method on a company whose numbers went the other way in 2025, read our SWOT analysis of Apple.
What Does a Tesla SWOT Analysis Show in 2026?
On FY2025 figures it shows a car business that shrank while energy grew. The strengths are 44.1 billion dollars of cash and record energy storage. The weaknesses are falling revenue, deliveries and margin. The opportunities are energy, software and the 2026 ramp. The threats are the repealed EV credit, tariffs, BYD and NHTSA (Tesla, 2026a). In the first half of 2026, revenue and deliveries recovered but margin did not.
Tesla SWOT analysis, FY2025 figures and 2026 filings
Strengths Internal, helpful
- 44.1bn dollars of cash and investments, up 21 percent
- Record 46.7 GWh of energy storage deployed, up 49 percent
- 8,182 Supercharger stations and 77,682 connectors
- 1.1 million active FSD subscriptions, up 38 percent
Weaknesses Internal, harmful
- Automotive revenue down 10 percent to 69.5bn dollars
- Deliveries down 9 percent to 1,636,129, a second annual fall
- Operating margin 7.2 percent to 4.6 percent; net income down 46 percent
- Model 3 and Y are almost 97 percent of deliveries
Opportunities External, helpful
- Energy revenue up 27 percent to 12.8bn dollars
- Services and other up 19 percent to 12.5bn dollars
- Cybercab, Tesla Semi and Megapack 3 planned for volume production from 2026 (Tesla's outlook)
- Robotaxi service launched June 2025; software and fleet profits
Threats External, harmful
- US consumer EV tax credit repealed, 4 July 2025
- Tariffs: some invalidated in February 2026; energy storage now most exposed
- BYD sold 2,256,714 battery-electric cars in 2025
- NHTSA FSD investigations: PE25012 (October 2025), Engineering Analysis EA26002 (March 2026)
In the first half of 2026 revenue rose 21 percent and deliveries 16 percent on a year earlier, while second-quarter operating margin fell to 1.4 percent (Tesla, 2026a, 2026d, 2026e). The four sections after the grid carry the evidence, one quadrant each.
Notice that two quadrants describe the same event from different sides. The fall in deliveries is a weakness because it is Tesla's own result; the repeal of the credit that helped sell those cars is a threat because Tesla did not decide it. Keeping that distinction clean is most of the skill in a SWOT.
What Are Tesla's Strengths?
Tesla's strengths in 2025 are financial and physical rather than commercial. It ended the year with 44.1 billion dollars of cash and investments, generated 6.2 billion dollars of free cash flow, deployed a record 46.7 GWh of energy storage and grew active Full Self-Driving subscriptions to 1.1 million, all in a year when automotive revenue fell 10 percent (Tesla, 2026a).
What Tesla had at the end of 2025
- Cash and investments
- 44.1 bn USD 36.6bn at the end of 2024, up 21 percent.
- Free cash flow, FY2025
- 6.2 bn USD 3.6bn in 2024; capital spending fell 25 percent.
- Energy storage deployed, FY2025
- 46.7 GWh 31.4 GWh in 2024; 4.0 GWh in 2021.
- Active FSD subscriptions
- 1.1m 0.8m in 2024, up 38 percent.
- Cash and cash generation. Cash, cash equivalents and investments rose 21 percent to 44.1 billion dollars. Operating cash flow was 14.7 billion, almost unchanged from 14.9 billion in 2024. Free cash flow rose 74 percent to 6.2 billion, but a marker will want you to notice why: capital expenditure fell from 11.3 billion to 8.5 billion dollars, so most of the improvement is lower spending, not higher earnings. The first half of 2026 reversed the spending cut. Operating cash flow rose by 3.94 billion dollars, but capital expenditure rose by 4.40 billion, to 8.28 billion, so free cash flow for the half fell from 0.81 billion to 0.35 billion, with the second quarter at negative 1.1 billion (Tesla, 2026d, 2026e).
- Energy storage at record scale. Deployments went from 4.0 GWh in 2021 to 46.7 GWh in 2025, up 49 percent on 2024 alone. The fourth quarter's 14.2 GWh was a record, and the update reports a record 1.1 billion dollars of energy gross profit in that quarter, the fifth record quarter in a row. At the end of 2025 Tesla's capacity table listed 40 GWh a year of Megapack capacity in California and another 40 GWh in Shanghai. The Q2 2026 Update lists Shanghai at 20 GWh, and that is the figure to quote (Tesla, 2026e).
- Vertical integration. The update describes an approach that works "at the system level", developing its own batteries, power electronics, inverters, software and AI silicon, and credits that integration with economies of scale and faster fixes to production bottlenecks. That is the company's own framing, so treat it as a claim rather than a finding: the filings publish no cost comparison that would test it.
- The charging network. Tesla ran 8,182 Supercharger stations with 77,682 connectors at the end of 2025, 19 percent more connectors than a year earlier. It is an asset a rival cannot buy quickly, and it earns revenue inside the services line whether or not car sales grow.
- Software with recurring revenue. Active FSD subscriptions rose 38 percent to 1.1 million, and the update credits growth in other automotive sales partly to that increase. A subscription is worth more to an analyst than a one-off sale because it repeats, which is why this strength links directly to the opportunities and to the largest threat.
- Gross margin held. Total GAAP gross margin was 18.0 percent against 17.9 percent in 2024, and gross profit fell only 2 percent while revenue fell 3 percent. The damage to profit in 2025 happened below the gross line, which matters for the weaknesses section.
What Are Tesla's Weaknesses?
The weaknesses all sit in the car business. Automotive revenue fell 10 percent to 69.5 billion dollars and deliveries fell 9 percent to 1,636,129. Because operating expenses rose 23 percent to 12.7 billion dollars while revenue fell, operating margin dropped from 7.2 percent to 4.6 percent and GAAP net income fell 46 percent to 3.8 billion (Tesla, 2026a).
Tesla income from operations and GAAP net income, FY2021 to FY2025
Chart data
| Point (bn USD) | Income from operations | GAAP net income |
|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | 6.5 bn USD | 5.5 bn USD |
| FY2022 | 13.7 bn USD | 12.6 bn USD |
| FY2023 | 8.9 bn USD | 15 bn USD |
| FY2024 | 7.1 bn USD | 7.1 bn USD |
| FY2025 | 4.4 bn USD | 3.8 bn USD |
- Falling volume. Deliveries were 1,808,581 in 2023, 1,789,226 in 2024 and 1,636,129 in 2025, and production fell 7 percent to 1,654,667 (Tesla, 2026a). Two years of decline made a trend, and the first half of 2026 broke it. Deliveries were 838,149 against 720,803 a year earlier, up 16 percent, partly because Tesla had brought all its vehicle factories down at once for the new Model Y changeover in the first half of 2025 (Tesla, 2026a, 2026d, 2026e).
- One platform. Deliveries of models other than the 3 and Y fell 40 percent, from 85,133 to 50,850 (Tesla, 2026a). A single platform at almost 97 percent of volume is efficient to build and fragile to sell: a demand shift in that one product moves the whole company.
- Margin compression. Operating margin has gone 12.1, 16.8, 9.2, 7.2 and 4.6 percent from 2021 to 2025. Income from operations went from 13.7 billion dollars in 2022 to 4.4 billion in 2025. In 2025 the cause was cost, not price: gross margin held, but operating expenses grew 23 percent. The update attributes the fourth-quarter increase to spending on AI and other research projects and on selling, general and administrative costs.
- Profit. GAAP net income attributable to common stockholders was 3.8 billion dollars, against 7.1 billion in 2024 and 15.0 billion in 2023. The 2023 figure includes a one-off 5.9 billion dollar release of a deferred-tax valuation allowance; strip that one-off out of the GAAP figure and the fall from 2023 is about 58 percent, not three quarters (the update's non-GAAP series, which also excludes stock-based compensation, shows 10.9 billion falling to 5.9 billion).
- The story is ahead of the accounts. The update describes a "transition from a hardware-centric business to a physical AI company". The income statement still says cars are 73 percent of revenue and the revenue line that grew fastest in 2025 was energy storage. A strategy that the reported numbers do not yet show is a weakness in the analytical sense: the company is asking to be valued on a business it does not yet report.
The five-year figures are below, one row per measure and the same source for all of them (Tesla, 2026a).
| FY | Total revenue, bn USD | Income from operations, bn USD | Operating margin | GAAP net income, bn USD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 53.8 | 6.5 | 12.1 percent | 5.5 |
| 2022 | 81.5 | 13.7 | 16.8 percent | 12.6 |
| 2023 | 96.8 | 8.9 | 9.2 percent | 15.0 |
| 2024 | 97.7 | 7.1 | 7.2 percent | 7.1 |
| 2025 | 94.8 | 4.4 | 4.6 percent | 3.8 |
What Opportunities Does Tesla Have?
The opportunities are the parts of the company that grew in 2025. Energy generation and storage rose 27 percent to 12.8 billion dollars on a record 46.7 GWh deployed, services and other rose 19 percent, FSD subscriptions rose 38 percent, and Tesla's own outlook puts Cybercab, Tesla Semi and Megapack 3 into volume production starting in 2026 (Tesla, 2026a).
- Energy storage demand. The 10-K makes the connection itself: "As AI infrastructure drives rapid load growth, Megapack helps to, among other things, increase utilization of existing generation and transmission capacity" (Tesla, 2026c). Tesla plans to begin Megapack 3 and Megablock production at Megafactory Houston in 2026, and the installed Powerwall base is over one million units. In 2025 this was the one segment where demand, capacity and margin all moved the right way; in the first half of 2026, its revenue barely grew and its margin fell (Tesla, 2026d).
- Software, fleet and services revenue. The outlook says that "over time, we expect our hardware-related profits to be accompanied by an acceleration of AI, software and fleet-based profits". The Robotaxi service launched in Austin in June 2025, and the update reports that the company began removing the safety monitor from those vehicles in January 2026. By the Q2 2026 Update the service was live in seven US metropolitan areas, six of them ramping unsupervised rides, including Miami, Orlando and Tampa from July (Tesla, 2026e). Tesla does not report Robotaxi or FSD revenue separately, so an assignment should treat this as an option with a stated direction, not a forecast with a number.
- The 2026 product ramp. The FY2025 update committed to "the ramp of six new production lines across vehicle, robots, energy storage and battery manufacturing", with the Cybercab and Tesla Semi ramps due, on Tesla's own schedule, to commence in the first half of 2026. Cybercab kept that date, starting production at Gigafactory Texas in the second quarter; the Semi did not, and is now described as "on track for production this year" (Tesla, 2026e). The stated approach is to use existing production capacity before building new factories, which is the right reading of a company that ended 2025 with 44.1 billion dollars of cash and falling volume: fill the plants it has.
- Asia-Pacific. The update lists record vehicle deliveries in the APAC region as a fourth-quarter highlight while total deliveries fell 16 percent in the same quarter. A region growing against the company trend is worth a sentence in any recommendations section.
What Threats Does Tesla Face in 2026?
Four threats are documented rather than speculative. The One Big Beautiful Bill Act of July 2025 repealed the US consumer EV tax credit. Tariffs affected supply-chain costs in 2025 and now weigh more on energy storage than on cars. BYD outsold Tesla in battery-electric cars in 2025 and the first half of 2026. NHTSA has two open Full Self-Driving investigations, PE25012 from October 2025 and EA26002 from March 2026 (NHTSA, 2025, 2026a, 2026c).
- The consumer EV credit is gone. In Tesla's own words: the Inflation Reduction Act incentives "were subsequently substantially curtailed by the One Big Beautiful Bill Act (the 'OBBBA') enacted on July 4, 2025, which repeals individual consumer tax credits for electric vehicles and residential energy property" (Tesla, 2026c). That is a demand subsidy removed in Tesla's home market, and it touches both the car and the home-energy businesses. The filing does not quantify the effect. Do not invent a figure for it; say that the company has not disclosed one.
- Tariffs and export controls. The same filing states that "U.S. trade policy alterations in 2025, including heightened import tariffs and subsequent retaliatory measures, have impacted our supply chain costs, and may impact the availability of certain technologies or components, depending on the exact scope of the tariffs ultimately implemented and retaliatory export controls" (Tesla, 2026c). For a company that builds cars in the United States, China and Germany and battery products in the United States and China, that is a cost and a supply risk at once. In 2026 the threat moved. In February the Supreme Court invalidated certain tariffs imposed under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act, and both quarterly reports since then say the current regime has "a relatively larger impact on our energy generation and storage business" than on cars (Tesla, 2026d, 2026f). That puts the threat on the segment the opportunities quadrant leans on most.
- BYD on volume. Company reports compiled by CnEVPost put BYD's 2025 battery-electric passenger sales at 2,256,714, up 27.86 percent, against Tesla's 1,636,129, down 8.56 percent. It was the first year BYD led (Zhang, 2026a). The lead held into 2026, narrowly: BYD sold 867,479 battery-electric passenger cars in the first half against Tesla's 838,149, with Tesla ahead in the first quarter and BYD in the second (Zhang, 2026b). The BYD side of that comparison, and why its cost base is different, is in our BYD marketing strategy analysis; this post keeps to Tesla's side. Our SWOT analysis of BYD applies the same four quadrants to BYD's own filings. The duty and tariff position from BYD's side is in our PESTEL analysis of BYD.
- The NHTSA investigations into FSD and Cybercab. On 7 October 2025 the Office of Defects Investigation opened Preliminary Evaluation PE25012 into "traffic safety violations while Full Self Driving ('FSD') is engaged", covering all Tesla vehicles equipped with FSD (Supervised) or FSD (Beta), an estimated population of 2,882,566. At opening it listed 58 incidents, 14 crashes, 23 injuries and no fatalities, prompted by owner complaints, Standing General Order crash reports and media reports (NHTSA, 2025). Be precise about what this is. A Preliminary Evaluation assesses "the scope, frequency, and potential safety consequences" of a behaviour; it is not a defect finding and not a recall. Its weight in the SWOT comes from what sits on the other side of it: 1.1 million paid subscriptions at the end of 2025 (1.48 million by 30 June 2026, Tesla, 2026e) and an outlook built on software and fleet profits, all resting on the product under review. NHTSA's investigation file of 24 September 2026 shows PE25012 still open, with no recall. A second FSD file has gone further. Engineering Analysis EA26002, the stage after a Preliminary Evaluation but still not a recall, was opened on 18 March 2026 out of an October 2024 evaluation of FSD crashes in reduced visibility. It covers an estimated 3,203,754 vehicles and nine crashes, one of them fatal (NHTSA, 2026a, 2026c). On 3 September 2026, the day Tesla began commercial deployment of a small number of Cybercabs in Austin, NHTSA opened Audit Query AQ26002 into how Tesla certified a vehicle without a permanently attached steering wheel, pedals or mirrors as meeting federal safety standards (NHTSA, 2026b). The technical side of vehicle autonomy and connected-car security is covered in our security challenges in automobiles report.
What Should Tesla Do, Based on This SWOT Analysis?
Tesla should run 2026 on the segment mix, not the car cycle. It should fund energy up to its installed Megapack capacity, pay for the 2026 ramp from 43.5 billion dollars of cash and investments, treat the FSD investigations as the gating risk for software revenue, and stop reporting success in deliveries alone (Tesla, 2026d, 2026e).
Each recommendation comes from a pair of quadrants; the pairing is the check that the analysis did any work. Energy is a strength (record deployments and gross profit in 2025) meeting an opportunity (grid demand from data centres), so it gets capital first, up to its installed Megapack capacity of 40 GWh a year in California and 20 in Shanghai (Tesla, 2026e). The cash pile is a strength meeting a weakness (falling volume and margin), so it buys time for the ramp rather than being spent on a new factory. Tesla should also plan for the "additional funding" that its June-quarter report says liquidity may include (Tesla, 2026d). The subscription base is a strength sitting directly under a threat (PE25012 and, since March 2026, EA26002), so the regulatory outcome, not the software roadmap, decides when fleet revenue can be counted on.
The trade-off has to be admitted. Energy at 12.8 billion dollars cannot replace 69.5 billion dollars of automotive revenue in any plausible planning period, even at 27 percent growth. The car business had to stop shrinking for the mix strategy to work, and in the first half of 2026 it did, with automotive revenue up 20 percent. What did not follow was profit: second-quarter operating expenses rose 47 percent, faster than gross profit, and operating margin fell to 1.4 percent (Tesla, 2026d, 2026e). A recommendation that ignores this has not read its own weaknesses quadrant.
Energy did not carry the first half either. Its revenue rose 1 percent, to 5.5 billion dollars, and its second-quarter gross margin fell from 30.3 to 20.4 percent on a lower price per Megapack and a higher cost per MWh (Tesla, 2026d). Deployments over the trailing twelve months were still a record (Tesla, 2026e). The case for funding energy first now rests on the demand the 10-K describes, not on 2026 results.
One more fault is worth naming: building the analysis around executives rather than around the company's reported results. The filings carry the argument; personalities date a page within a quarter. The Toyota global strategy case study shows a different framework applied to the same industry, which is useful if your brief asks for a comparison. More strategy samples are in our business assignment samples. For the same four quadrants applied to Toyota's FY2026 filings, read our SWOT analysis of Toyota.
How Do You Write a SWOT Analysis Like This for Your Own Assignment?
Start from the latest annual filing, not from a published SWOT. Put at least one dated figure in every quadrant, keep internal factors out of the external quadrants, link each number to the document you opened, and write recommendations that name the quadrants they come from. Then say plainly what the sources do not tell you; stating a limit is analysis, guessing is not.
- Get the primary documents. For a listed United States company that is the annual report on Form 10-K and the quarterly shareholder update, both free on the SEC's EDGAR site and the company's investor relations page; for a UK company, the annual report at Companies House. A UK company that is also listed in New York files a Form 20-F as well; our SWOT analysis of AstraZeneca is built on one. Never take figures from another SWOT. If you are working from the filings yourself, our guide to reading an annual report for a case study shows where each figure sits in a 10-K and how to cite it.
- Fill the internal quadrants from the income statement and cash flow. Revenue by line, gross margin, operating margin, net income, cash, each with its direction and its comparison year.
- Fill the external quadrants from the risk factors and from regulators. The 10-K's Item 1A is the company's own list of threats, written by its lawyers; quote it and cite it. Add anything a regulator has opened, in its own words and dated.
- Test every bullet against the internal and external rule. "Deliveries fell" is internal; "the credit was repealed" is external. A bullet that could go in either column splits into what the company did and what was done to it.
- Write recommendations that pair quadrants. A strength that meets an opportunity, a strength that offsets a threat, a weakness an opportunity could fix.
- State the limits. Here they are: Tesla does not report operating profit by segment, does not quantify the effect of the credit repeal, and does not disclose Robotaxi or FSD revenue separately. Writing that down is analysis, not weakness.
Reference in the style your module names. This sample uses Harvard with the access date, because filings are updated and a reader must find the version you used.
Need a SWOT analysis or strategy case study on Tesla or another company? Message us on WhatsApp with the company, the frameworks your brief names, the word count and the deadline.
Sources
- Tesla, Inc. (2026a) Q4 and FY 2025 Update. Shareholder update published 28 January 2026. Tesla Investor Relations (PDF) (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for the FY2021 to FY2025 financial summary, segment revenue, margins, cash flow, deliveries, storage deployments, FSD subscriptions, Supercharger counts and the Outlook wording.
- Tesla, Inc. (2026b) Tesla Fourth Quarter 2025 Production, Deliveries and Deployments. Form 8-K, Exhibit 99.1, 2 January 2026. SEC EDGAR (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for production and deliveries by model and for the 46.7 GWh deployment total.
- Tesla, Inc. (2026c) Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2025. Filed 29 January 2026. SEC EDGAR (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for the OBBBA and tariff statements, the Robotaxi launch date and the Megapack demand sentence.
- Tesla, Inc. (2026d) Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026. Filed 23 July 2026. SEC EDGAR (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for first-half 2026 revenue by line, energy gross margin, cash flow and capital expenditure, cash and investments at 30 June 2026, the Model Y changeover, the "additional funding" sentence and the tariff note, with its statement that tariffs weigh more on energy than on cars.
- Tesla, Inc. (2026e) Q2 2026 Update. Shareholder update published 22 July 2026. Tesla Investor Relations (PDF) (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for 2026 deliveries, second-quarter operating expenses, margin and free cash flow, storage deployments, active FSD subscriptions at 30 June 2026, Robotaxi coverage, the Megapack capacity table and the status of Cybercab and Tesla Semi.
- Tesla, Inc. (2026f) Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 31 March 2026. Filed 23 April 2026. SEC EDGAR (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for the first report of the February 2026 tariff ruling and the energy storage exposure sentence.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (2025) ODI Resume: Preliminary Evaluation PE25012, Traffic safety violations while Full Self Driving ("FSD") is engaged. Office of Defects Investigation, opened 7 October 2025. NHTSA (PDF) (accessed 24 September 2026).
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (2026a) ODI Resume: Engineering Analysis EA26002, FSD Collisions in Reduced Roadway Visibility Conditions. Office of Defects Investigation, opened 18 March 2026, prompted by PE24031. NHTSA (PDF) (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for the stage, date, population and failure report summary.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (2026b) OVSC Resume: Audit Query AQ26002, Tesla Cybercab FMVSS Certification. Opened 3 September 2026. NHTSA (PDF) (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for the date, the Austin deployment and the scope of the query.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (2026c) ODI investigations flat file (FLAT_INV.zip), file dated 24 September 2026. NHTSA (ZIP) (accessed 24 September 2026). Source for the status of PE25012 (open, no recall campaign) and EA26002 (open), and the opening date of PE24031.
- Zhang, P. (2026a) Tesla loses BEV crown to BYD in 2025 as global deliveries drop 15.61% in Q4. CnEVPost, 2 January 2026. cnevpost.com (accessed 24 September 2026). Secondary source, compiled from company reports, for BYD's 2025 battery-electric volume.
- Zhang, P. (2026b) BYD's BEV sales beat Tesla again in Q2 despite US EV maker's strong rebound. CnEVPost, 2 July 2026. cnevpost.com (accessed 24 September 2026). Secondary source, compiled from company reports, for BYD's and Tesla's battery-electric volumes in the first half of 2026.
Filings checked for currency on 24 September 2026: Tesla's filings on SEC EDGAR after the FY2025 10-K, up to the 10-Q filed on 23 July 2026 (the first- and second-quarter deliveries reports and updates, both 10-Qs, and a 10-K amendment of April 2026 that adds only the Part III governance and pay disclosures), and NHTSA's investigation file of the same date.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are Tesla's biggest strengths in 2026?
Money and infrastructure. Tesla ended 2025 with 44.1 billion dollars of cash and investments and 6.2 billion dollars of free cash flow. It deployed a record 46.7 GWh of energy storage, ran 8,182 Supercharger stations with 77,682 connectors, and had 1.1 million active Full Self-Driving subscriptions. At 30 June 2026 it still had 43.5 billion dollars and 1.48 million subscriptions, but second-quarter free cash flow was negative as capital spending rose. The strengths section gives a source for each.
What are Tesla's biggest weaknesses?
The car business shrank on every line in 2025. Automotive revenue fell 10 percent to 69.5 billion dollars, deliveries fell 9 percent to 1,636,129, operating margin dropped from 7.2 to 4.6 percent and GAAP net income fell 46 percent to 3.8 billion dollars. Almost 97 percent of deliveries were a Model 3 or Model Y. Deliveries rose 16 percent in the first half of 2026, but operating margin fell further, to 1.4 percent in the second quarter. The weaknesses section has the five-year table.
How much revenue did Tesla make in 2025?
Total revenue for the year ended 31 December 2025 was 94.8 billion dollars, 3 percent less than the 97.7 billion dollars of 2024. Automotive contributed 69.5 billion, energy generation and storage 12.8 billion and services and other 12.5 billion. Income from operations was 4.4 billion dollars and GAAP net income attributable to common stockholders was 3.8 billion.
What happened to the US electric vehicle tax credit?
Tesla's 10-K for FY2025 states that the incentives introduced by the Inflation Reduction Act were substantially curtailed by the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, enacted on 4 July 2025, which repeals individual consumer tax credits for electric vehicles and residential energy property. The filing does not put a dollar figure on the effect, so this sample does not either. The threats section quotes the filing in full.
Is BYD bigger than Tesla now?
In battery-electric volume, yes. Company reports compiled by CnEVPost show BYD sold 2,256,714 battery-electric passenger cars in 2025 against Tesla's 1,636,129 deliveries, the first year BYD has led. It stayed ahead in the first half of 2026, 867,479 to 838,149, although Tesla led the first quarter. This post keeps to Tesla's side of that comparison; our BYD marketing strategy sample covers BYD's.